Blessings

“Count your blessings,” they say. And I’ve said it to people myself. It’s most often uttered when someone appears to be ungrateful or discontent with a set of circumstances. Yet, how often do we actually stop and try to count them? If we did, we’d find that they’re innumerable, but we often don’t and take, instead, to asking for more… and more. If our desire for more isn’t satisfied, we complain and are again told to count our blessings. Maybe this time around we’ll be a bit wiser and count them, giving thanks to God for everything we have and have had.

I’ve just recently been reminded that God can be seen in all of our blessings for it is God who blesses us. Sometimes he blesses us through other people– people who are blessed to be a blessing (Genesis 12). When you are face-to-face with these people, it’s as though you are face-to-face with Christ himself, the Ultimate Blessing.

All that to introduce this short poem, written almost immediately after I was reminded of what I just told you.

“Blessings”:

I ask and beg for things everyday
And then whine if I do not get them.
If I do, I fail then to repay
The generosity with a hymn
Or song of praise and pure thanksgiving
For it’s a selfish life I’m living.

Despite this, every now and again,
You bless me with something groundbreaking—
Something so rarely given to men
It leaves my heart glad and knees shaking
And, when it’s gone, I can’t help but cry
And scream and shout with face to the sky.

All these theatrics simply because
I then see how blessed I truly was.
So, though someday I will cheer and smile
Due to how blessed I was for that while,
Of lamenting I’ll have my fair share
For Christ was there and I unaware.

Praise God from whom all blessings flow.

“Surely the LORD is in this place, and I was not aware of it.” Genesis 28:16

MG

Leave a Reply

